What To Expect with No Auto Insurance

Danger of No Auto Insurance by The SAIL Group

The state of Illinois passes down strict punishments for those drivers who operate their vehicle without the proper auto insurance coverage. Those who drive without insurance in this state will face minimum fines of $500. Additionally, this law does not just apply to those who are licensed to drive in Illinois – this goes for any driver from any state who is caught without insurance in the state of Illinois and are subject to the same monetary fines and possible non-monetary penalties.

Illinois does outline a minimum requirement when it comes to insuring a vehicle – drivers Danger of No Auto Insurance by The SAIL Groupmust insure their vehicle with $20,000 for the injury or death of a single person in an accident, $40,000 for multiple people, and an additional $15,000 for any property damage the driver may cause. The state law also requires the driver to carry proof of his or her auto insurance while driving and non-residents of the state must also show proof of auto insurance and valid driver’s license.

Those caught driving without insurance the first time will be fined a minimum of $500 with a maximum fine for the first offense being $1,000. For those tried and convicted of driving without insurance in the state, they will also have their license plates suspended and will have to pay an additional $100 to have them reinstated. For those who are convicted of three or more offenses, they will have to pay a minimum fine of $1,000 unless an accident or injury occurred during the incident.

Should a repeat offender cause an injury during their latest incident, he or she will face fines of $2,500 – these repeat offenses will also result in the driver having his or her license plates suspended for a period of four months and will still have to pay a $100 reinstatement fee. In addition to monetary fines, those who are convicted of driving without insurance may also have their license suspended for a period of three months, in which they will also have to pay a $100 fee to have reinstated.

In the state of Illinois, and really any state, it is very important to make sure to have auto insurance and be covered whenever driving or in the event of an accident. Doing so will not only financially cover the driver and the vehicle should something happen, it could also help the driver avoid paying high fines, being convicted and having his or her license and license plates suspended for a period of time.

Don't put yourself at risk. The SAIL Group is here to assist you find the right car insurance plan for you. Call us to set up a free quote.

The SAIL Group
5301 E State St. #106
Rockford, IL